Travel
Tokyo
London
Gothenburg
Home
Craft & DIY
Entertainment
Family & Friends
Japanese Culture & Tradition
Metrobloggen

19: 04 05 06 07 08
17: 01 02 03
16: 04 05 06
15: 01 02 03 04 06 07
14: 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13: 01 02 03
12: 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 10 12
11: 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 10 11 12
10: 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 10 11 12
09: 11 12
08: 01 02 03 04
07: 10 11 12

Welcome home!

17 Apr 2019
 
Shin and I have lived in this flat for almost 2 years now so it is high time I give a proper tour here on the blog! We live in a town called Surbiton in the south western part of Greater London, just on the border to Surrey county. We moved in here in mid-May 2017. The monthly rent is £1130.
 
The flat has one bedroom, one living room, one very small kitchen and one small bathroom. It also has a small entryway/hallway wich isn't much more than a passway between the different rooms. But let's start the tour here, and later I will write separete posts for the other rooms. 
 
 
When you come inside our flat your view will be that of the first photo in this post. The bathroom is straight ahead and the kitchen is to the left. The entryway is so narrow you have to step to the side in order to close the door behind you. Next to the door we have an "old" school map of the British Isles. I love this map, and it is actually sold in most book stores as gift wrapping paper. The red tengu guarding our entrance is a mask I brought home with me from Japan last November.  
 
 
A leaning wall shelf is perfect in our narrow hallway to store shoes, hats and gloves. The crocheted stool cover is made by myself. The colourful painting is by a Swedish artist and was a gift to me. 
 
 
This IKEA shelf side unit was left unused after we put together our shelf for the living room (to be included in the living room post) so we ended up using it in the hallway instead. Actually we have IVAR units in every room except the bathroom, it is definitely one of IKEA's more versatile products.
 
 
Some memories from our trip to Lisbon almost a year ago. To make this frame I painted a corkboard white and glued on handmade photo corners. This way I can swap out the photos when I feel like it. 
 
 
I bought the three "Legend of Zelda" prints at a convention here in London called Hyper Japan. I don't remember the artist's name but I really like them. 
 
 
Some of our travel mementos. Can you name all of the countries and cities? (hint: the beetle is just a beetle)
 
 
And that is it! I'm not even sure you can call it a hallway, it is basically just an area connecting the front door with 4 other rooms. Lastly, if you scroll down you will see what is hiding behind that suspicious looking door to the right.
 
 
That green water tank is called a boiler and the purpose is to heat water for our flat. I think. Honestly I am not sure. Bust most UK homes seems to have one of these. I am used to it now but in the beginning I was quite uncomfortable with having that inside the flat. It looks like it could explode any minute...
 
This cupboard comes with minimum storage but I think we made the most of it. In here we have more shoes (most of them are Shin's), the rice cooker and the slow cooker and finally, toilet paper. 
 
I hope you enjoyed that. For part 2 of this series, The Kitchen, click here.


Please write me something nice (^∇^)

Name:
Remember me?

Email: (will not be shown)

Website:

Reply: